

Item 9 Annex A **Updated**

JOINT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2017-2018

Joint Strategic Committee Membership is the Leader who appoints their Executive (no requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
	Worthing Borough Co	ouncil	
1	Chair: Dan Humphreys	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins	Conservative	
3	Diane Guest	Conservative	
4	Val Turner	Conservative	
5	Mark Nolan	Conservative	
6	Heather Mercer	Conservative	
	Adur District Council		
1		Conservative	
2		Conservative	
3		Conservative	
4		Conservative	
5		Conservative	
6		Conservative	

Joint Governance Committee (requirement for political balance)				
No	Councillor	Political Group		
	Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Elizabeth Sparkes	Conservative		
2	Vice-Chair: Lionel Harman	Conservative		
3	Paul Baker	Conservative		
4	Steve Wills	Conservative		
5	Jane Sim	Conservative		
6	Bryan Turner	Conservative		
7	Callum Buxton	Conservative		
8	Mark Withers	UKIP		
Adur District Council				
1		Conservative		
2		Conservative		
3		Conservative		
4		Conservative		
5		Conservative		
6		UKIP		
7		UKIP		
8		Labour		

Note: Not more than one member to be an Executive Member

For Standards matters:

Independent Members: John Todd, Simon Norris-Jones and Susan Clark

Parish representatives: Lancing Parish Council (1) – Sompting Parish Council (1)

Joint Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)				
No	Councillor	Political Group		
	Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative		
2	Vice-Chair: Vicky Vaughan	Conservative		
3	Ant Baker	Ind Cons		
	Adur District Council			
1		Conservative		
2		Conservative		
3		Labour		

Joint Senior Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Daniel Humphreys	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins	Conservative	
3	James Doyle	Green	
Adur District Council			
1		Conservative	
2		Conservative	
3		UKIP	

By convention these places are taken by the Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council and the Main Opposition Leader

Note: Each Council must have one Executive member

	Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group		
	Worthing Borough C	ouncil		
1	Chair: Roy Barraclough	Conservative		
2	Vice-Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative		
3	Nigel Morgan	Conservative		
4	Luke Proudfoot	Conservative		
5	Steve Waight	Conservative		
6	Louise Murphy	Conservative		
7	Sean McDonald	Conservative		
8	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem		
	Adur District Council			
1	Chair:	Conservative		
2	Vice-Chair:	Conservative		
3		Conservative		
4		Conservative		
5		Conservative		
6		UKIP		
7		UKIP		
8		Shoreham Beach Residents' Association		



COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2017-2018

Executive, appointed by the Leader				
		Councillor	Title	
1	Dan	iel Humphreys	Leader (to	May 2019)
2	Арр	in Jenkins ointed wef 5.2017	Deputy Le	eader Member for Regeneration
3	Mar	k Nolan	Executive	Member for Resources
4	Hea	ther Mercer	Executive	Member for Customer Services
5	Арр	ne Guest ointed wef 5.2017	Executive Member for Environment	
6	Val	Turner	Executive Member for Health and Wellbeing	
	Policy Advisors to Executive Members These are not Council appointments; these are made by the individual Executive Member, advised to the Director of Communities.			
1		Vicky Vaughan		Leader
2		Paul Baker		Executive Member for Regeneration
3		Paul Westover		Executive Member for Resources
4		Louise Murphy		Executive Member for Customer Services
5		Ed Crouch		Executive Member for Environment
6		Nigel Morgan		Executive Member for Health and Wellbeing

CenSus Committee (With Adur District Council, Mid Sussex District Council and Horsham District Council

(membership is from the Executive)

Councillor	
Daniel Humphreys	Leader
Mark Nolan	Executive Member for Resources

Worthing Planning Committee

(requirement for political balance)

(requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Paul Yallop	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Vicky Vaughan	Conservative
3	Clive Roberts Conservative	
4	Paul Westover	Conservative
5	Joshua High	Conservative
6	Ed Crouch	Conservative
7	Noel Atkins	Conservative
8	Hazel Thorpe	Lib Dem
Substitute M	ember Nomination	Political Group
	Councillors with relevant training as listed on the website	Conservative
	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem

It is a requirement that Members, and substitute members, of this Committee must receive appropriate training.

Overview and Scrutiny Committee

(requirement for political balance)

No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Roy Barraclough	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative
3	Nigel Morgan	Conservative
4	Paul Baker	Conservative
5	Luke Proudfoot	Conservative
6	Jane Sim	Conservative
7	Steve Waight	Conservative
8	Louise Murphy	Conservative
9	Noel Atkins	Conservative
10	Callum Buxton	Conservative
11	Tom Wye	Conservative
12	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem
13	Ant Baker	Independent Conservative
14	James Doyle	Green
15	Susan Jelliss	UKIP

Worthing representative on the West Sussex Adult and Social Care Select Committee (membership is from the Scrutiny Committee)			
Keith Bickers Conservative			

Licensing and Control Committees 'A' and 'B' (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Paul High	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Sean McDonald	Conservative
3	Paul Baker	Conservative
4	Lionel Harman	Conservative
5	Steve Wills	Conservative
6	Paul Westover	Conservative
7	Jane Sim	Conservative
8	Joshua High	Conservative
9	Ed Crouch	Conservative
10	Noel Atkins	Conservative
11	Keith Bickers	Conservative
12	Callum Buxton	Conservative
13	Tom Wye	Conservative
14	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem
15	Susan Jelliss	UKIP
Substitute Member Nomination		Political Group
1	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem
2	Mark Withers	UKIP

Note:

Although two separate Committees operating under different rules, it is suggested that Membership/Chairman/Vice-Chairman are the same for both.

It is a requirement that Members of this Committee must receive appropriate training.

Substitutes are not permitted for 'B' Committee.

Requirement for Political balance is dependent on which Committee is meeting. Officers will ensure this is correct in each case.

Notified Group Leaders (Regulation 8(3)) - change

UKIP - Cllr Mark Withers (Leader) Cllr Susan Jelliss (Deputy)